Leave Your Review

Send

Name:

This field is required.

Thank You!

Your review has been successfully sent.

Email:

This field is required.

Your Review:

This field is required.

What People Say

A Wonderful Place To Stay

Friendliness of Janet and Martin.  Nothing too much trouble.  Very informative, bed super comfy, quality linen on the bed, tables presented well at  breakfast – Denby crockery and Robert Welch cutlery.  Attention to details good.

Beautiful lounge to sit in; wonderful when log burner was lit for us in the bar, making it super cosy. Rocky the dog was so friendly and well-behaved.  We will be back next year.

 

Nichola – Booking.com August 2021

 

 

Superb Country Hotel

Fabulous hosts.  Janet and Martin were just lovely hosts, we really enjoyed our interaction with them. We had room two which was so comfortable, a lovely window to the front and a smaller window at the side, both of which had wonderful views and interlinked curtains.  Th bed and pillows were perfect, so comfortable.  They also have two sitting rooms with comfortable sofas and a small bar which was really nice to use before we went out to dinner.  All with log burners.  Janet recommended some restaurants and a very pleasant taxi driver who knew where the property was and was very prompt at picking us up at the beginning and end of the evening.  Great location for visiting local towns and villages.

 

Carolyn – Booking.com August 2021

 

 

Excellent

Beautiful place.  Amazing surroundings.  Janet and Martin were so nice, so welcoming.  Janet prepares amazing breakfasts, couldn’t be better.  I hope we come back one day.  Thank you for making our stay so special.

 

Sanchez – Hotels.com August 2021

 

 

Down in Devon Working

From start to finish it was a welcoming, charming and peaceful place to stay.  The hosts are accommodating, the breakfasts of high quality, the rooms homely and the views are stunning.  They even contacted me the week before and asked if they could book me a table at a local pub, The Cleave.  Definitely hoping to stay here again next time I am working in Devon.

 

Anonymous – Hotels.com August 2021

 

 

Perfect Setting…

Beautiful house and lovely hosts.  Stayed here for a couple of nights with my teenage daughters and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  Lovely comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. We will definitely return.  Thank you Janet and Martin.

 

Dawn Mosley – Google review August 2021

 

 

Fantastic stay, wonderful hosts!

We had the most wonderful stay at Eastwrey Barton! Janet and Martin were amazing, the food was fantastic and we were so well looked after!

 

Kirsten – Booking.com July 2021

 

 

We would recommend this to anyone who wants excellent B and B at a fair price

Liked · To see the stars at night

Fantastic views from room 3

The map shows this near an A road but very quiet.

A roads on Devon Dartmoor tend to be single track with passing spaces

 

Paddy – Booking.com July 2021

 

 

Exceptional

Spotlessly clean! Great breakfasts and Janet and Martin made us feel very welcome.

Would definitely recommend.

 

Howard – Booking.com July 2021

 

 

5/5!

 

Myself and my family had a fabulous stay recently at Eastwrey Barton. The owners , Janet and Martin were warm and welcoming, providing great knowledge of the local area, enabling us to explore areas off the beaten track. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with superb attention to detail - the bed and bed linen is possibly the comfiest I have ever experienced! The breakfasts are superb, a wide selection and so tasty - setting us up for busy days in the Devon countryside and coastline. We thoroughly enjoyed the stunning grounds, and the croquet on the lawn. Later we made very good use of the well stocked bar! We will be going back for sure and I highly recommended Eastwrey Barton to anyone wishing to explore the local area or just have a peaceful break away!

 

Sarah Skelding – Google Review July 2021

 

 

Perfect spotlessly clean B&B in a beautiful part of the country

 

Intimate comfortable and spotlessly clean B&B in a spectacular part of Dartmoor. Janet and Martin are accommodating, generous and clearly love their job. Our room was spacious and light with wonderful views out across the hills and trees. We slept very well in our room. The breakfast was delicious with lots of options. Janet and Martin are perfect hosts and their B&B offered everything we could have hoped for.

 

Archie – Trip Advisor June 2021

 

 

5* B&B

What a glorious B&B this is. The house itself is immaculate and attractive and the hosts warm and welcoming, the location is unrivalled for a B&B with stunning views all round. The breakfast was delicious and the homemade cake and Eastwrey Tea were incredible, so much so that I’m in need of more of it.

 

Mrs Smith – Trip Advisor June 2021

 

 

An Absolute Gem of a B and B

 

What a beautiful setting to have ended off our week in Cornwall. Janet and Martin have created a beautiful guesthouse with a real attention to detail that enhances any stay here. We loved the colour and light in the decor, the many thoughtful products in the room, (even fresh coffee bags for a coffee addict!), the delicious breakfast, the quality Denby crockery, and fresh flowers around the house, lovely garden, and the genuine warmth of true hospitality. We shall be back! Thank you! Wishing you a really good season!

 

Anne – Trip Advisor May 2021

 

 

Great family weekend

 

Janet and Martin are fantastic hosts and Eastwrey Barton is truly a find to explore Dartmoor. We went there with our young child and we felt really at home. Janet even provided toys in the room for our child and the home cooked breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended!!

 

Ronicoli – Trip Advisor May 2021

 

 

A beautiful, luxurious and tranquil stay in a gorgeous countryside retreat with wonderful hosts.

Janet and Martin were the most lovely, warm and welcoming hosts. It really felt like a luxurious home from home, the house, gardens and our room were all spotless and in pristine condition, and very well appointed. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of options, and all delicious locally sourced produce. Our bed was so comfy and we both slept like logs! A lovely roomy en-suite with a nice big bath with a view over the garden was also a massive bonus. We’ll definitely be back.

Emma - Booking.com June 2021

 

 

Would recommend to everyone. Beautiful and lovely, caring proprietors.

The perfect up market B&B run by 2 people that care. Glorious breakfasts. Everything one could want.

Lisa - Booking.com June 2021

 

 

Great place to relax

Amazing place and amazing hosts.

Roman - Expedia.com June 2021

 

 

Fantastic 5 night stay

 

We are a retired couple who were seeking high quality accommodation for some long overdue rest and relaxation in pleasant surroundings and as a base to explore Dartmoor and the south Devon coast for the first time.

Eastwrey Barton Country House was perfect, particularly so because the hosts, Janet and Martin were welcoming and friendly and genuinely want their guests to have the best stay possible.

The interior and exterior pictures of the Country House on the Eastwrey Barton web site do not overflatter it. The garden is immaculate and the views, which we were also able to enjoy from our room window and the breakfast table, outstanding. Similarly, inside the property, everything is geared up to provide maximum comfort and in that respect our spotlessly clean room with a cosy bed and lovely en-suite bathroom was one of the best we have had the pleasure to stay in.

Breakfast each day was fantastic with lots of choice…… we could go on and on.

One of the things that is sometimes greatly underestimated is the importance of the hosts’ local knowledge. This made all the difference, especially to Devon newbies like us.

Janet and Martin were able to assess our needs and made recommendations that were perfect for us, whether it was to visit nearby picturesque villages or accessible Tors that matched our physical capabilities, they significantly enhanced our holiday experience.

Finally, and I hope this part won’t be applicable for too long, Janet and Martin have taken all the necessary Covid-19 precautions to ensure everyone’s mutual safety and wellbeing without compromising the comfort of the stay in any way.

Thank you Janet and Martin for a wonderful visit that surpassed our, already high, expectations.

Martin C – Trip Advisor June 2021

 

 

An amazing find in Dartmoor

 I took my two boys (10 and 13) to a 5-day break in Dartmoor during the autumn half term break.  We stayed at Eastwrey Barton and truly enjoyed it. The hotel was located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, in a very peaceful and beautiful setting. 

 

It was super convenient to explore the moor from here. The room was very clean and comfortable.  The towels were extra fresh and fluffy. The hot shower was the best thing you could ask for after a full day of exploring at the moor. The true best part of the hotel were the hosts, Janet and Martin.  Janet was very thoughtful and cared for every little thing we asked for. She booked a very nice Restaurant for us in advance for the night of arrival, and also two other nights. All were fabulous.  

 

Martin not only cooked amazing breakfast, but also had the best game nights at the bar area.  He got my two boys hooked on the game of "Ticket to Ride" and now we are playing this game at home.  Martin also provided tons of tips for exploring the moor.  As our travel schedule changed, Janet was very kind and flexible and made the change to allow us to extend our stay. We had such a wonderful experience here and my boys are looking forward to coming back again soon.

Rebecca Lin - Trip Advisor October 2020 

 

 

Absolutely Excellent!

 Words cannot express how wonderful Eastwrey Barton is. The rooms are fantastic, the hosts are so hospitable, even before you arrive. Martin and Janet really make you feel at home and part of their family.The wonder home cooked breakfast and home blended tea will set you up for your adventures.If you enjoy old school board's games, you'll love the vast selection and additional house rules!!! 

Hugh Crouch October 2020 Trip Advisor

 

Beautiful location, fantastic hosts, superb accommodation

Beautiful view, great breakfast, owners were very friendly and full of information about the area.

 Alice September 2020 - Booking.com

 

 

We can't recommend it more highly

The breakfast was excellent. Good selection, quality ingredients, cooked beautifully and well presented. Lovely view of valley whilst eating with relaxed but attentive service. Janet and Martin went the extra mile to help during our stay, we can't recommend it more highly, will certainly return.

Robert September 2020 - Booking.com

 

 

Superb

Do not hesitate to stay at this high quality value for money establishment. Beautiful property, quiet location, clean comfortable rooms, excellent home cooked breakfast, free parking. Extremely hospitable hosts happy to help with Dartmoor walking tips etc. We look forward to returning next year.

Andrew  October 2020 - Trip Advisor

 

Everything was truly perfect

We consider ourselves fortunate to have stumbled upon this gorgeous bed and breakfast.  Everything was up to an impeccable standard.  The owners truly have a penchant for great hospitality and made us feel completely at ease.  The breakfast was incredible, the room was very clean and the premises were spectacular.  Janet was kind enough to book us a reservation for dinner at a local pub.  She also kindly left a whole box of toys for my daughter along with a whole array of stuffed toys.  They took every bit of precaution in regards to our current climate.  The hotel was filled with hand sanitisers, socially distancing measures were adhered to and the owners wore protective gear.  

 

Everything was truly perfect.  We look forward to returning.  Thank you Janet and Martin for a perfect stay.

Ammar October 2020 - Expedia

 

 

Hospitality at its best!

Eastwrey Barton is a beautiful house in glorious countryside. The breakfast was exceptionally good, and no detail is overlooked by the warm and welcoming hosts.

Steve Silvester September 2020 - Google

 

Fantastic B&B

We have just spent a week at Eastwrey Barton as an extended family group. Janet and Martin are fantastic hosts and we have been extremely well looked after. The food is consistently delicious and the portions are generous.The log burners in the sitting room and the bar area add to the cosy feel and we enjoyed making use of the range of games and jigsaw puzzles in the evenings.There are plenty of places to visit in the local area (even during a particularly damp half-term week!) and it is a short drive to Haytor, Hound Tor, Widecombe in the Moor and other places on Dartmoor.We thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

Ruth W February 2020 - Tripadvisor

 

Excellent B&B

Lovely house, spacious well-equipped room and delicious food. Hosts, Janet and Martin are kind, thoughtful and friendly. Highly recommended. Easy access to Dartmoor and Martin is the one to recommend lots of walks.

Colin July 2020- Tripadvisor

 

Fantastic find!

We stayed in room 4 - plenty of room for a family of 4. The house is beautiful, situated in a quiet location with a large garden. Martin and Janet are great hosts, and the full English breakfast is fantastic. Great care has been taken to ensure cleanliness in the current Covid environment. Would definitely stay here again.

Gareth August 2020 - Tripadvisor

 

Fantastic Boutique-style B&B

I stayed here with my husband and two children (aged 12 & 9) for 2 nights and I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly. The property is easy to find and although on the A road through, it's quiet, peaceful and has stunning countryside views. The rooms are beautifully decorated with every comfort. Janet & Martin were both so friendly and accommodating and gave us some helpful tips on the area. The Covid preventative measures were thorough but not intrusive. There is a fab small bar area and Martin had lovely selection of wines to choose from. Breakfasts were amazing with everything you could wish for - my kids wanted to move in! If you are coming to this part of Devon then you won't find a better place to stay - all the feeling of a small boutique hotel with the benefits of a family run B&B.

Theresa August 2020 - Tripadvisor

 

Warm welcome, lovely house and family friendly

We experienced a wonderful 3-night stay at the Eastwrey Barton B&B with our 2 children (3 year and 2 months). The house is lovely, close to all major sites of Eastern Dartmoor and with a family room that is a perfect fit for a family of 4. Janet can arrange everything to make sure that both parents and kids feel at home (toys, kids cutlery, etc.). And Martin’s bar is definitely a plus for parents!

Vincent Aug 2020 - Tripadvisor

 

Absolutely excellent! Highly recommend!

We had a great long weekend with family at Eastwrey Barton in Lustleigh, a short journey from the stunning Dartmoor National Park. Martin and Janet were fantastic hosts and went to excellent measures to make sure you enjoyed your stay. They were knowledgeable about the local area and advised us on what to do, see and where to go for food and drink. This hotel even has its own blend of tea which is brilliant. Their new bar area was great and was wonderful to relax in after a busy day. Board games and other entertainment was available if the weather was wet. The grounds are beautiful and provide a relaxing setting for some time away. Their car park was big enough for all of the guests' cars and it was well sign-posted so that you knew where to go. If you fancy a trip to Devon, this is the place to stay!

Matt August 2020 - Tripadvisor

 

A wonderful stay in beautiful Dartmoor.

Janet and Martin are wonderful hosts, their charming country home is set in the most beautiful surrounds. We had a lovely stay, were very comfortable and enjoyed the most delicious breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

Lara August 2020 - Booking.com

 

Beautiful house, stunning view, amazing people!

The rooms were cleaned to the highest standard, everything was immaculate, just the way I would have done it in my own home. The breakfast was the best we have ever had; the kids are still talking about it! Janet and Martin were so welcoming and sweet, they made us feel at home. Thank you so much and hope to come back next year!

Sulafa August 2020 - Google Review

 

Another lovely stay at this beautiful B&B.

Felt very safe despite the pandemic and Janet and Martin were fantastic hosts as usual.

Andrea July 2020- Google Review

 

Our stay was fantastic.

Janet and Martin are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to create a cosy atmosphere for the guests. They gave us such great recommendations about the local area that our experience of it far exceeded expectations. We also felt safe as they put extra care to follow government guidelines on COVID, like disinfection, and social distancing wasn't a problem. Our room was very nice, tidy, and well maintained. The common space for guests is extremely comfortable. An unforgettable experience.

George and Marie August 2020 - Website Submission

 

Lovely place to stay in Dartmoor

"My husband and I spent three nights with Janet and Martin, and we just love this place! So quiet and pastoral. I would have been happy staying here for a week! The house is beautiful, our room was great, and breakfast was wonderful. I have Celiac, so I must eat gluten free, and Janet and Martin made sure that I had a safe, but also tasty, breakfast each morning.The area is beautiful, and it's relatively easy to get from place to place, so long as you adapt to the interesting, cooperative practice of driving in the area :-). Personally, I found the driving to be part of the all around lovely experience! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again."

KLPCLT - July /19

 

 

A wonderful week away for group of 14

"We have just spent the week at Eastwray Barton and I can find no faults. There were 14 of us ranging from 2yrs to 80+. We had breakfast and dinner provided and both were delicious and plentiful and there were thoughtful additions for the children. The downstairs and outside space is wonderful as are the views. We enjoyed the wood burner and there was a large variety of books and games available to borrow. We shared a family room that was very large and spotless. Bed was very comfortable and the sheets were a real treat. The toys on the beds were well received. All in we had a great week and there was lots to do nearby."

Melissa E - April '19

 

Great one night stay

“We just returned from a one night stay with Janet and Martin and it was a great experience. They were kind enough to let us arrive a little early so we could attend a local wedding, very friendly and helpful - arrange a cab for us.  We had the best night sleep in the most comfortable bed. Great coffee and tea making facility and spacious room.  Breakfast was fantastic, fresh cereal and coffee and tea available as well we hot choice which was delicious.  Thanks for a great little night away and we can’t wait to return."

Lara & Jasmin - January '19

 

A relaxing gataway

"We used Eastwrey Barton for an overnight stay to break up the journey from London to Cornwall. It provided beautiful scenery and overall a relaxing visit. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and the accommodation is comfortable and meets all requirements. A walk into the woods or to the local town/pub is recommended. Ask the landlord for a game of ‘paper scissors rock’."

Michael W. - August '18

 

Home from home

“Our first visit to Eastwrey Barton, and we were delighted with our choice. Janet and Martin did indeed provide a warm welcome and generous hospitality. They did everything possible to ensure our comfort, and were very accommodating in providing a beautiful room for our son at a very reasonable price. Our rooms were comfortable, contemporary and tasteful, providing a high standard of everything required, and also had the most wonderful views through large windows of the large garden and Dartmoor beyond . The bathrooms were spotless, contemporary and generously stocked with lovely toiletries. Rooms cleaned and refreshed daily. Breakfasts were best quality ingredients and delicious.Janet and Martin were a great source of advice on the area, and unfailingly friendly, but never intrusive. It is their first season - their enthusiasm is refreshing, and their professionalism is commensurate with the most experienced of hosts. We shall certainly return."

KCMS - August '18

 

Lovely B&B and the best host!

"The hosts of these B&B are simply amazing! Extremely welcoming and helpful, we received plenty of tips for our walks in the moor. Bedroom and bathroom were really roomy and decorated with taste. The view, both from the room and from the breakfast room, is breathtaking. The B&B also has a beautiful garden to chill out! Just be prepared for a bit of a walk (or a short drive) to reach the centre of Lustleigh, where there is the closest pub (which is also really good!)"

Gila A - August '18

 

Outstanding hospitality

"This lovely guest house is set in a stunning location, ideal for exploring Dartmoor. We had a spacious room with a super-king sized bed and a beautiful view across the valley. The bed was very comfortable and the room and en-suite were spotless. There was a lovely selection of breakfast options. Our hosts couldn't do enough to help: offering to book us a table at the local pub for a meal on our first night, greeting us with tea and cake on arrival and regularly checking in with us to see if there was anything we needed. They provide a wide selection of maps and books and are able to recommend some lovely places to visit. We were able to spend time sitting reading or chatting in the garden and did not feel we had to be out all day. The world cup was on that week and we all sat and watched a match together in the lounge one evening which was great fun! We can't recommend highly enough and will definitely return!"

Pauline C. - July '18

 

Lovely B&B with friendly hosts

"My husband and I arrived as strangers and were treated as friends. Janet and Martin are so friendly and will do anything to help you have a lovely stay. The en-suite room we stayed in was very big with a sofa bed as well if needed – tea and coffee was also provided in the room. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - cooked, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries the list goes on…. and we certainly did not need lunch! There was a lovely lounge area for guests to use with views of the beautiful garden and surrounding area and whenever we sat down Jenny or Martin popped in to check we were okay and to offer us a cup of tea or coffee…usually accompanied with a piece of homemade cake (yummy). They were able to offer us advice as to some lovely walks in the area and happily lent us maps etc. to be used during our stay and we found it was a perfect base for exploring Dartmoor and surrounding areas. They even had pre-booked a table for us at the local pub for the evening we arrived, knowing that otherwise we would have been doing more driving looking for somewhere to eat. We would have no hesitation in booking again and recommending to our friends."

L&A Clay - May '18

 

Charming B&B

"We only stayed the one night at Eastwrey Barton but found the accommodation very clean, very comfortable and a super location. The owners were very attentive and helpful. The breakfast was delicious.We very rarely stay at B&Bs and prefer hotels but would certainly go back to Eastwrey Barton."

Flywheel27. - April '18

 

Great place to stay

“It was a great location in easy reach of Dartmoor and Exeter. The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very spacious, with lovely views and very comfortable bed. Delicious home cooked breakfast and other choices to eat. We plan to stay again."

Wendy L. - Match '18

 

 

Eastwrey Barton - what can I say? 

You will not meet better hosts than Janet and Martin who will do anything and everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible - including phoning a local pub to make dinner reservations for you. The views are wonderful, breakfast was great (would thoroughly recommend the full English and Eastwrey blend tea). The guest house is slightly remote and you do need to eat out for dinner but if you have done your homework you know that already! Great value and looking forward to going back."

 Expedia Verified Traveller - September '19

 

 

Faultless Visit!

"Excellent stay at this beautiful country house with amazing views of Dartmoor and the Devon countryside. The owners couldn’t have been more accommodating and friendly. Comfy bed, great shower and a wide range of breakfast options made the stay everything I needed for a weekend away for a local wedding. Would definitely recommend!"

Phil - June '19

 

Excellent, excellent, excellent!

"booked 2 rooms for my Surveys. They loved Eastwrey, said it was the best B&B/Guesthouse they have ever stayed in. Wonderfully confortable beds, and a fresh tasty breakfast of Scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and pots of tea. Wonderful Hostess, pot of tea upon arrival. Can't wait to stay again."

 Shairead - June '19

 

Fantastic welcome

"We received a fantastic welcome on arrival with the most delicious apple cake. The room was spotlessly clean and had beautiful views over the valley. The owners could not have been more helpful about where to go and what to see. Highly recommended."

 Expedia Verified Traveller - June '19

 

Relaxing Family Break  

"We stayed for a couple of nights to enjoy the moor and have some family time in the countryside. The property is done to a high standard and the owners were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and the beds were comfy, very clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious, the children loved it, beautiful views from the dining room. There is plenty of family activities in the area, did some trekking and visited nearby castle. Would definitely recommend!"

Abigail - April '19

 

 

 

Lovely B&B perched over a Dartmoor valley

"While the weather was rainy and misty, it added to the Dartmoor atmosphere. The owners were welcoming and had arranged for a table for dinner at a local 15th C pub. We would have liked to stay longer but had other commitments. The location is remote but beautiful and the local village is stunning (although the roads are very narrow - I’m glad I wasn’t driving at night.) The B&B is easy to find because it is on the main road. The room was large, nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and good linens. The view was lovely. The breakfast was good and made to order. Unfortunately, a recent electrical problem had caused the wi-if to be very spotty (but what are we using the internet for when we are in the midst of such natural beauty!)"

Colin - August '18

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eastwrey Barton
Eastwrey Barton | Bed & Breakfast Devon
@eastwreybarton
@EastwreyBarton

01647 277274 | info@eastwreybarton.co.uk